The Wilderness Act was signed into law by the great president Lyndon B. Johnson on September 3, 1964. For the first time ever, a country had by definition decreed what was considered “wilderness.” So what exactly is wilderness? According to section 2(a) of the Wilderness Act, “…lands designated for preservation and protection in their natural condition.”

And lucky for us West Virginians, we have 9 areas of land that are protected under The Wilderness Act:

1. Big Draft Wilderness
2. Cranberry Wilderness
3. Dolly Sods Wilderness
4. Laural Fork North Wilderness
5. Laurel Fork South Wilderness
6. Mountain Lake Wilderness
7. Otter Creek Wilderness
8. Roaring Plains West Wilderness
9. Spice Run Wilderness

This site is dedicated to these wonderful areas, the laws in which apply to them as well as tips for visiting these areas. For more information, feel free to contact us!